EN FR

Social Sciences and Humanities Working Group - People and The Ocean Speaker Series

OFI's Social Sciences and Humanities Working Group presents a series of eight "people and the ocean"-focused webinars. Each webinar will feature a presentation by a marine and coastal SSH expert reflecting on key issues in their field, supplemented by short presentations by two discussants and an open question and answer period involving registrants. The series as a whole seeks to inform governance and provide an introduction to SSH-led — but increasingly inter- and trans-disciplinary — efforts to understand complex interactions between society, economy, culture, and marine and coastal environments.

Date Title Presenters Links

October 6th, 2021
12:30 ADT
13:00 NDT

Interdisciplinary ocean and fisheries economics in action

  • Rashid Sumaila
    speaker
  • Ratana Chuenpagdee
    discussant
  • Andrés Cisneros-Montemayor
    discussant

Register: Zoom

November 9th, 2021
9:30 AST
10:00 NST

Complicating contemporary narratives around marine finfish farming

  • Ben Belton
    speaker
  • Julia M. Wright
    discussant
  • Charles Mather
    discussant

Register: Zoom

December 8th, 2021
12:30 AST
13:00 NST

Seafarers in Industrial Fishing: Examining migrant worker precarity

  • Melissa Marschke
    speaker
  • Peter Vandergeest
    speaker
  • Christine Knott
    discussant
  • Desai Shan
    discussant

Register: TBA

TBA

TBA

  • Marloes Kraan
    speaker
  • TBA
    discussant
  • TBA
    discussant

Register: TBA

TBA

TBA

  • Sherry Pictou
    speaker
  • TBA
    discussant
  • TBA
    discussant

Register: TBA

TBA

TBA

  • Kevin St. Martin
    speaker
  • TBA
    discussant
  • TBA
    discussant

Register: TBA

TBA

TBA

  • TBA
    speaker
  • TBA
    discussant
  • TBA
    discussant

Register: TBA

TBA

Research is land relations

  • Max Liboiron
    speaker
  • TBA
    discussant
  • TBA
    discussant

Register: TBA